The Future of MAKE?

23 Nov

This is quite a difficult post to write and not sure where to start or what I really want to say. In a nutshell I wanted to ask you all what you think the future of MAKE should be?

We’ve been going for two years now and went from strength to strength from the start but over the last few months it has been harder and harder to fill spaces on our workshops  with the danger of some Christmas workshops having to be cancelled and so we are losing money. As you all know we are a community project, non-profit and run by volunteers who put in a huge amount of work. However in January all our basic costs, hall hire, insurance, advertising etc. are set to rise again  – but we don’t really want to raise our prices of our workshops.

We were the first in Horsham to run creative craft workshops and now there are 4 others who also offer craft workshops which means that the market is getting competitive and I for one don’t want to compete; I set this up so that craft workshops were accessible to all in Horsham and so that money wasn’t a hindrance to anyone and also to be a community project.

So what I need to know from you:

a) do you still want to come to MAKE workshops?

b) if you do what kind of craft workshops would you want to come to?

If we get enough positive messages then we will be continuing after Christmas.

Any form of constructive feedback would be most welcome. Either in these comments or via email makehorsham@yahoo.co.uk . Look forward to hearing from you.

Take Care,

Magdalen x

 

18 Responses to “The Future of MAKE?”

  1. val westall November 23, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

    Love my crafty nights !! Not all the crafts interest me but am willing to try something new.Could we not get everyone who has attended a workshop to bring their work along and see what happens from there onwards.? I would love to see some of the finished articles from other classes.Thank you to everyone involved .

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 10:58 pm #

      Thanks Val, that’s a good idea, one to plan for the new year? x

  2. Leyla Edwards November 23, 2013 at 4:42 pm #

    I really enjoy the workshops, mostly because I am learning a new technique in the company of others and I can then take away that new skill and it enriches my hobby. For me, I prefer crafts that are not too expensive to pursue, such as crochet, sewing, etc and that I can incorporate recycling into, which is a big basis for the crafts I do. I do also enjoy the social aspect as it allows me to spend time with like-minded people who are as enthusiastic as I am about crafting.

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:05 pm #

      Hi Leyla, thanks for your comments especially about the recycling, I trying to arrange a rag rug workshop which is all about recycling old clothes :) Do try our Craft Café as I think you’ll enjoy that? x

  3. Jen November 23, 2013 at 8:33 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear that Magdalen. Your project is fantastic, and totally inspirational. It looks like from the comments here and on FB that people really love what you do, but I understand how hard it is to put your heart and soul into something that is then not covering costs. I am sure that the support is there-just need to figure out a way to get bums on seats. If I can do anything to help, or you want someone to bounce ideas off, or just have a moan, then please do e-mail me!

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:09 pm #

      Ah thank you so much Jen for your kind words and support. I’m trying hard to work round it and will start Make again in Jan just once a month instead of twice. I will email you over the new year to brainstorm some other ideas if I may? Take care x

  4. Jay November 24, 2013 at 9:56 am #

    Hi Magdalen, so sorry to hear of the problems you are having filling the workshops, I wish I had a solution! Difficult for me as I’ve never taken part in one, being difficult to get too, they always look well attended! Can you do them less often? I hope you manage to get something worked out as I’d love to come back again in the spring, maybe for Easter! good luck,

    Jay http://www.knitwitoriginals.com

    On Sat, Nov 23, 2013 at 1:34 PM, WordPress.com

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:16 pm #

      Hi Jay, thanks for your support and for running such successful needle felting workshops for us! x

  5. hellsnbells November 24, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    I’ve really enjoyed the sessions I’ve attended, thank you for organising them. I think the concept for Make is brilliant & I wouldn’t mind paying a couple of pounds extra do you can cover your costs.

    I personally would be interested in more flower arranging (maybe indoor bulbs), paper cutting ( Rob Ryan type thing), jewellery making, book binding.

    The only down side for me is the start time. My children go to bed at 7.00 so I find it difficult to get there that early, 7.30 would be perfect for me.

    Thanks again

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

      Hi there, thanks for all your suggestions I have added to my list of possible workshops and will try to organise some for you. Also we have a few workshops that do start at 7.30pm, for example all our crochet ones, however I will endeavour to organise more for a 7.30pm start. x

  6. Millie Jaspert November 24, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

    Hi Magdalen, Really sorry to hear this. I have loved the evenings that I have been to, I really wish I could come to more but for me it’s an issue that my husband can’t often get back in time to look after the children. When he has moved to a job with less long hours then I’m definitely planning to come along more regularly. I really enjoy trying something new at the MAKE evenings and it’s great how many of the sessions are for people with no previous experience (like me for most things!) Thanks so much for organising them. How about having a ‘contingency fund’ jar or something and for people who wouldn’t mind putting in a couple of pounds more (like me) there could be an optional donation for you to dip into on the nights when funding is tight. Please do continue the sessions – they are such a fun, different thing to do in the evening and I always enjoy them,
    Many thanks Millie x

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:28 pm #

      Thanks Millie for your kind words and yes the contingency fund jar sounds like a good idea, hope to see you soon at one of our evenings x

  7. Jean Clayton November 27, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    Hi Magdalen I have only been on one of your courses, making a crochet bowl, which I thoroughly enjoyed. Since then there hasn’t been anything that appeals to me. I would be interested in sewing related things, or learning how to use everything on my sewing machine. How about learning different knitting patterns. Or making an item of clothing, I could do with some help in getting patterns to fit properly. I am not interested in soap making or anything like that. I wish you well in your endeavours to keep MAKE going. Regards Jean

    Date: Sat, 23 Nov 2013 13:34:03 +0000 To: jeanclay13@hotmail.com

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

      Hi Jean, yes I remember, glad you enjoyed the workshop! Hope to see you at another workshop soon. We do have a few sewing related ones coming up a patchwork quilt course after Christmas and sewing a Christmas stocking next Monday 16th Dec and we’ve just had a knitting fairisle workshop?

  8. Anne Allen November 27, 2013 at 4:49 pm #

    Hi Magdalen, I have really enjoyed coming along to Make. It’s a brilliant idea and you do have a good variety of classes. I love the idea of recycling and would like to see more crafts like the Pillowcase/dress for little girls. Sometimes there is more than one class in an evening that appeals to me. Transport home can be a problem as I don’t drive and live in Slinfold. but I do my best to come along. I am a late comer to Make as I had no idea about the classes until I met Michelle. I had thought the classes were well attended too. I am happy to put up a poster in my waiting room and let people know what a great evening they could have.
    Many thanks for your effort, long may Make continue.

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

      Hi Anne, thank you, that’s great that you have enjoyed our workshops and hope that you continue to come along :) We do have more plans to do the pillowcase dresses and shorts again and more workshops based on recycling. Yes please to the offer of putting up a poster, it would be great to get the word round more :)

  9. Fiona Hiron December 1, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    I love the Horsham Make project – please don’t stop. I’ve only just discovered your workshops recently and have done the book binding and mosaic classes. I really enjoyed both, and am so chuffed with what I achieved in such a short time.
    I think that learning a craft that people can then adapt at home is a good idea – crochet, sewing, etc. At the same time though, I did the mosaic class because it was an opportunity to give something that would be difficult/expensive to try out at home because of all the equipment you’d need.
    I certainly think what you do is fantastic. Maybe all of the people who attend could help spread the word further?

    • makehorsham December 12, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

      Hi Fiona, thank you for your encouragement and glad you enjoyed the workshops, we’re going to try out some new ideas in the new year so watch this space!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

